old timer but Newbie with FusionPBX confused about domains and tenants... ( suggetions wanted)

Status
Not open for further replies.

AGIDI

Sep 22, 2021
Hello Fusioners.:cool:

For context, we have some voip experience but this is my first time with FusionPBX , because i needed an easy multi tenant solution so i could stop spinning up VPS for each client.

I am a little confused on the use of domains for customers.
I was thinking to do the following and need comments or suggestions

Customers/Clients do not use FusionPBX GUI, just softphones.
We are trying to use acrobits white label which will be setup to 1 server mainpbx.com domain which points to the VPS public IP.

I was planing on creating my customers under domains as
Company1
Company2
Company...5
(But not actually creating A records for each subdomain)
Will extension be able to register from any Company1...5 if the softphone is setup to reach mainpbx.com ?

What would be the best practice for this? all pointers and suggestions are welcomed.

Last edited:

AGIDI

Sep 22, 2021
Im adding yo my previous post and maybe paraphrasing a little bit.

I read some posts that mentioned that an account could register one of two ways
Assuming the VPS has mainpbx.com as a domain

Domain on Fusion Client1.mainpbx.com, user can register softphone with extension 400 and password, to server client1.mainpbx.com
or
Domain on Fusion Client2.mainpbx.com, user can register softphone with extension 400@client2.mainpbx.com, to server mainpbx.com ???
Is this correct?

My issue is that the softphones come "hardcoded" with mainpbx.com as the server, but i still multi tenant to work
All suggestions are welcomed. thanks

Last edited:

voipguy87

Aug 28, 2023
We are also evaluating Acrobits white-label and they have a feature called 'unlimited subdomains' which seems like it might be necessary to allow the multiple domains correctly. There is an additional monthly cost associated however. I can update as our evaluation continues.

AGIDI