change sip port 5060 to custom port, but no audio/video received at endpoint.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jasonyy

Dec 15, 2020
hi, I am new to fusionpbx/freeswitch, very appreciated if any clue is provided.
striaght to the point, the scenarios is pretty simple, I try to change sip port from 5060 to other random port, purpose to avoid anoymous registering attempting as my server is directly exposed on the internet. I have successfully change the port numbers on the vars.xml and sip profile from Fusionpbx GUI. see screen snap shot bottom below;

however, the call is becoming no sound/video at all; although registering account is successful as usual. any comment is very appreciated!
圖片_2021-02-14_203624.png圖片_2021-02-14_203818.png

Adrian Fretwell

Aug 13, 2017
If registration and SIP signalling (i.e call set-up) is working then your SIP port configuration is probably fine. Audio/video is sent using the RTP protocol, not SIP. Whilst you do specify what port range may be used for RTP, the actual port is determined on a per call basis and communicated via the SDP (Session Description Protocol) body associated with the INVITE / /183 Session progress / 2OO OK SIP messages.

It will help if you determine what IP and ports are being offered for RTP in the relavent SIP messages that have SDP bodies. This is normally done with a packet capture of the problem call. The standard tool in Linux for packet capture is tcpdump, but many find sngrep useful if your server is not too busy.

I assume you are not using TLS.

jasonyy

Dec 15, 2020