I seem to have 2 'lazy' extensions

Status
Not open for further replies.

toolfolks

May 1, 2020
I have a Grandstream GXP1628 and HT108 ATA.

I have our mobile software running on IOS & Android and also GSWave on IOS & Android.

All can call each other put on hold etc etc.
I have a DialPlan that checks for the caller ID and if it matches transfers the call direct to ext 1053.

However after a while the 2 hardware extensions 'go to sleep'. When I call on an inbound number there's a silence for a while then the call goes to voice mail. Same if I call from a sip phone.

To wake them up I have to dial another extension and all is ok again

DigitalDaz

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 29, 2016
What are your registration timers set at, that sounds like classic NAT tunnel timeout

toolfolks

May 1, 2020
Cheers,

as usual as a newbie I go to check the settings and there is a few different options.

Which one is the registration timers

Attachments

• Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 02.13.58.jpg
    Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 02.13.58.jpg
    119.7 KB · Views: 12
  • Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 02.13.26.jpg
    Screenshot 2020-05-07 at 02.13.26.jpg
    60.4 KB · Views: 12

ad5ou

Jun 12, 2018
Registration expiration is way too high (60 minutes) change setting to 2
Also enable “options keep-alives ”

Adrian Fretwell

Aug 13, 2017
Registration expiration is way too high (60 minutes) change setting to 2
You should never need to set registration expiration to such a low value as long as your keep alive pings are working correctly.

If NAT holes are getting closed, it is better to properly investigate the cause rather than make your system work around it.

Short registration expiry times puts extra load on your system. If you have a relatively small number of extensions it's not a problem but it certainly will not help you scale well.

toolfolks

May 1, 2020
What are the ‘ optimum ‘ settings.
It’s a minefield as there are 6 settings on the 6128 so how does one test the various combinations.