SOLVED Manually editing dialplan xml files

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlueWater

Sep 1, 2017
Hello,

I'm new to FusionPBX and still getting my head around it but I wonder if anyone knows if it's possible (and advisable) to manually edit xml files.
For example I need to add bunch of lines to the /conf/dialplan/default.xml - how do I go about it without breaking anything? I tried to locate the default.xml file with "XML Editor" but can't seem to find it anywhere.

EasyBB

Oct 23, 2016
Australia
May be create a new XML file under dialplan directory? xml files from certain directories are autoloaded:

upload_2017-9-3_10-28-20.png

DigitalDaz

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 29, 2016
What sort of things do you want to add/edit? The xml files are not really the right place and may well be overwritten in the future.

BlueWater

Sep 1, 2017
I was following this tutorial http://kb.asipto.com/freeswitch:kamailio-3.1.x-freeswitch-1.0.6d-sbc and wanted to add something like that:

Code:
<extension name="kbridge">
     <condition field="destination_number" expression="^kb-(.+)$">
          <action application="set" data="proxy_media=true"/>
          <action application="set" data="call_timeout=50"/>
          <action application="set" data="continue_on_fail=true"/>
          <action application="set" data="hangup_after_bridge=true"/>
          <action application="set" data="sip_invite_domain=192.168.178.23"/>
          <action application="export" data="sip_contact_user=ufs"/>
          <action application="bridge" data="sofia/$${domain}/$1@192.168.178.23"/>
          <action application="answer"/>
          <action application="voicemail" data="default ${domain_name} $1"/>
      </condition>
    </extension>

Now I'm using different SBC than Kamailio so I won't be needing that, but nonetheless, I still want to learn Fusion/FS - would you say then that a best practice is to configure everything through GUI instead messing with XML files?

DigitalDaz

Administrator