Stress/Load testing

ardyhash

Jan 7, 2021
Hello world,

Just wanted to ask here to see what tools the community reccommends for stress/load testing a PBX installation.
I'm currently just monitoring, listening to sample calls when load is high, and scaling up vertically as I grow, but I feel that I'm overprovisioned and would like scientific proof.

Thanks in advance!

Adrian Fretwell

Aug 13, 2017
I'll pick up on this as no one else has.
I have little or no experience of load testing. I do know that it is quite a complicated art to get it right and produce meaningful results.
You have to load test in a way that simulates exactly the scenario that you wish to test. Handling X calls per second is one thing. Handling X call per second when the system needs to also update 50 busy lamps is quite another.

I find my systems are generally more busy handling registrations and BLFs that they are taking/recording calls. And that's another thing, if you are doing a lot of recording, the bottleneck may be disk I/O, not your ability to process SIP messages.

Many people use a tool called sipp for load testing SIP, I've not used ti myself but I would be interested to hear how you get on.

I know a chap who has dome some testing on the DjangoPBX http config delivery speed using a tool called siege. Below is an example testing the dialplan delivery when someone calls *9664 (music on hold):

Code:
siege -c 255 -t60s "http://127.0.0.1:8008/xmlhandler/configuration/ POST section=dialplan&domain=test1.djangopbx.com&FreeSWITCH-Switchname=dev1.com&Caller-Context=test1.djangopbx.com&Caller-Destination-Number=*9664"

This delivered 100% success on bare metal at 450 requests per second.

I hope that has given you a little to go on.

Last edited:

ardyhash

Jan 7, 2021
Thanks Adrian, both for highlighing points I hadn't considered and for sharing siege with an example.

DigitalDaz

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 29, 2016
I don't think there is any way to reliably determine any of this.