Adding custom parameters to gateway config

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gregor Maier

Oct 31, 2021
Hello!

I'm new to FusionPBX and Freeswitch and therefore searching solutions for some challenges :). My SIP provider needs mediasec to be able to encrypt rtp stream. Therefore I extended Freeswitch to speak mediasec (which primarily is part of the registration process). That's working fine. Now I would like to add a switch / a new parameter to the gateway configuration (which enables mediasec only if needed). But unfortunately, I don't know how to provide custom variables via FusionPBX to Freeswitch gateway configuration w/o changing the FusionPBX source though I searched heavily - but hopefully I've overseen the solution?

Do you have any idea?

Thanks
Gregor

Adrian Fretwell

Aug 13, 2017
I assume you are referring to RFC3329 maybe? I'm pretty sure Sofia parses, passes and supports the Security-Client: Security-Verify: headers. I always thought it was up to the UAC to generate them, not something you would configure in a gateway, unless, of course, you mean adding them to the registration process with your provider. I would then imagine it would be governed by a parameter in the SIP Profile. I have not seen it.

Gregor Maier

Oct 31, 2021
unless, of course, you mean adding them to the registration process with your provider.
Yes.

Sofia / freeswitch doesn't know anything regarding mediasec besides the headers itself. There is no handling implemented at all regarding mediasec (you may take a look at the source code and you will see it). I implemented it for myself. It's working now. Because of this, it would be desirable to have a variable to switch mediasec on or off in the gateway (most SIP provider don't need it).

Adrian Fretwell

Aug 13, 2017