/etc/sysctl.conf optimisations

Status
Not open for further replies.

screwloose

Feb 5, 2017
Hi Community

I was wondering if anyone has had to make and "optimisations" to their sysctl.conf files for big installations? I recently ran in to a problem with UDP input buffers being full and causing issues with voice quality on a box with 1k+ regs and 80+ active calls at a time.

I couldn’t find a clear guide or info about what i should be changing but after a lot of googling i change a whole bunch of things and the issues seems to have gone away.

So just wondering if anyone else has had these sorts of issues?

Thanks
Andrew

Adrian Fretwell

Aug 13, 2017
Hi Andrew,
I would be interested to know what changes you have made. I am no expert and the network ring buffer setup can get quite complex. Making changes can often make things worse. The obvious change is to make more memory generally available to the buffers with:
net.core.rmem_max

There is a general recommendation to increase this to at least 25mB (26214400), but I am not convinced that we should just blindly do this without good reason. Making the receive buffer 25Mb and then running ten receiver applications will consume 250Mb of physical memory which can end up being wasteful. Too much UDP buffer space can also result in slower recovery from packet loss and/or sequence errors

If buffers are getting full, there may be a good reason, like the server is not processing the requests quickly enough, in which case, under constant load, you will eventually fill the buffer no matter how big it is. You may need to investigate your CPU scheduling or other potential bottlenecks that can hold up the CPU like disk I/O for example.