Hello from Kansas

Status
Not open for further replies.

ict2842

Mar 2, 2021
Wichita, KS
Hello All,

My name is Abraham and I am in Wichita, KS. I am new to FusionPBX. I have setup FreePBX but would like to try out FusionPBX for its multi-tenant and high availability features. I have migrated our family business from landlines to FreePBX and am currently working things out to have a local nonprofit switched as well. Afterwards I will work on migrating a few family friends' businesses over. I am doing all this voluntarily, with them paying for the SIP Trunking, hosting, and phones. FreePBX works great. I am wanting to move to FusionPBX because I would rather not manage several separate PBX instances. My first impressions of FusionPBX is that it isn't as "user friendly," but perhaps I just need more time with it.

I am currently a student working on three Associate's: Web Development, Cyber Security, and Internetworking Management. I have a few IT certifications. I'm not sure where I'll end up after college.

I am working to install FusionPBX on Ubuntu 18.04 now and make a dummy server for that nonprofit in order to test things out.
I would love to support FusionPBX, but a $1200/year minimum is too high. Taking out that I am not making money on this, not knowing if I will end up using it is really discouraging to sign up for it. Videos seems older, are there any great docs or tutorials on setting everything up?

Adrian Fretwell

Aug 13, 2017
Hi Abraham, and welcome!

You should get some friendly help here. It is a shame that the membership cost is a barrier for many. Even as a business we struggle to justify the $1200/year especially in the context of all the other donations we make to support the many other Open Source software products that we use for our VoIP platform.

Check out both the FusionPBX and FreeSWITCH documentation:
https://docs.fusionpbx.com/en/latest/
https://docs.fusionpbx.com/en/latest/getting_started.html