Need guidance for an office incoming calls.

Status
Not open for further replies.

kidjake28

Nov 30, 2017
I'm fairly new to fusion so I need some guidance with a particular office I just set up.

Let me give you some background info:

Real Estate office that has two receptionists. The office is using yealink handsets.

They may get four or five calls come in at once and if one receptionist is on the phone or busy the other would proceed to announce 'thank you for calling..can you hold please' and do that for all four calls. They would put these callers on hold (not park). The reason why they wouldn't put the person on park is because when they park a person and then unpark they don't get the caller id info which they want.
Now when the 'busy' receptionist gets off the phone they would like to be able to pickup the other calls that are on the other receptionists hold so that they can help with the load but obviously can't.

Currently I just have all incoming going to a ring group which the two receptionists are members of.

So to summarize the issue they have is:

1) If one person puts a call on hold the other can't pick it up BUT the caller ID is retained.
2) If one person parks the call the other person can pick it up BUT the caller ID is not retained.

Should I be using a queue call center or something different? Please help.

Basically they want either receptionist to place callers on hold and either one of them to be able to pick it up. OR as I said should they be doing it another way.

Last edited:

kidjake28

Nov 30, 2017
I've ran a few packet captures and this is my take (I could definitely be wrong):

When a call is parked, the yealink simply hold the calls and nothing is done at the fusion/freeswitch side. When its off of hold the yealink simply returns the call and displays call id.